Consumer Resource Guide - For more information on addressing common issues and topics, please review the Colorado Attorney General’s Consumer Resource Guide. Please be advised the information contained within the Resource Guide should not be taken as legal advice. Consumers seeking a legal opinion should consult with a licensed attorney.
The Colorado Attorney General's Office receives hundreds of complaints from consumers deceived by contracts that automatically renew without a consumer's full knowledge or approval. Consumers report that the automatic renewal features of these contracts were not clearly disclosed and that they did not realize they would be billed beyond the initial contract term, or found it nearly impossible to cancel the contract once billing began. To help address these and other concerns involving automatic renewing contracts or subscriptions, the Attorney General’s Office worked with the Colorado General Assembly to enact House Bill 21-1239, which was signed into law in July 2021 and takes effect January 1, 2022. Learn more about the bill and your rights here.
If you desire a legal opinion or representation relating to your specific situation, we recommend contacting a private attorney or one of the services that provide legal assistance through the local bar association and/or other legal entities.
The Colorado Child Support Services Program, operated by the Colorado Department of Human Services is to assure that all children receive financial and medical support from each parent. This is accomplished by locating each parent, establishing paternity and support obligations, and enforcing those obligations.
Child support enforcement units exist within each county in Colorado to assist with child support matters. For more information regarding child support rules and regulations within Colorado or for assistance relating to child support matters, consumer should contact the Child Support Services Support Program.
One of the most misunderstood rights under Colorado consumer protection statutes is the right to cancel a consumer contract. In general, there is no right to cancel a consumer contract or purchase, especially regarding new and used automobile purchases. However, there are some exceptions:
In Colorado, you have the right to rescind a transaction under several circumstances:
WHAT IS A BUSINESS DAY? Any day except Sunday and official federal/state holidays.While most contract cancellation policies may be identified within the contract, deceptive trade practices or misrepresentations may constitute a violation of the Colorado Consumer Protection Act (CCPA). If you believe you have been victimized or if you wish to report suspicious activity, file a report with the Colorado Attorney General.
The State of Colorado has established the Disabled Telephone Users Fund (C.R.S. 40-17-104 ) to help fund services for hearing or speech impaired individuals. The Colorado Public Utilities Commission administers telephone relay services through a program called “Relay Colorado.” Relay Colorado is a free service that provides full telephone access to people who are deaf, hard of hearing, deaf-blind, or speech-disabled.
Relay Colorado allows text-telephone (TTY) users to communicate with regular telephone users through trained relay operators. The operator will dial the requested number and relay the conversation between the two callers. The service is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, and there are not any restrictions on the number or length of calls. All calls are confidential and records of conversations are not kept.This service is accessed by dialing “711” on your telephone. More information on the use of service is available here.
An additional service that is available through Relay Colorado is “captioned telephone.” Using special telephone equipment, you simply dial the number you are calling and the phone automatically connects you to the captioned relay center for Relay Colorado. Specially trained operators transcribe everything the other party says to you into written text (captions) using voice recognition technology. The captions appear on a screen on your telephone. More information on this captioned telephone service is available here.
The Colorado Civil Rights Division is the state agency established to administer and enforce Colorado’s anti-discrimination laws in employment, housing and public accommodations. Colorado law prohibits such discrimination based on race, color, national origin, ancestry, sex, sexual orientation, creed, religion, disability (mental and physical), familial status (housing only), marital status (housing and public accommodations only), marriage to a co-worker (employment only), and age (employment only).
Complaints regarding discrimination should be reported to the Colorado Civil Rights Division. There is no charge for filing a complaint nor is the presence of an attorney required.
The Colorado Civil Rights Division cannot handle:
Here are some important federal contacts if you feel you have been discriminated against in your employment or housing:
The Colorado Department of Education is the administrative arm of the Colorado State Board of Education. This state agency can help with occupational/vocational schools, questions about school requirements. If a consumer has tried to resolve a problem with the local school officials and not succeeded, this could be a good resource.
For those with questions or concerns regarding higher education, the Colorado Department of Higher Education may be able to provide further assistance.
While the Departments generally oversee issues and concerns regarding education, concerns regarding deception and misrepresentations, such as inflated graduation rates or non-fulfillment of job placement guarantees may also constitute a violation of the Colorado Consumer Protection Act (CCPA). If this may be the case, report it to the Colorado Attorney General.
The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies - Division of Professions State Electrical Board regulates and licenses electricians. The Board’s mission is to protect the health of the public by enforcing state electrical statutes. The board conducts regular inspections of the installations that they regulate, and review special requests for exceptions to the code.
The Board activities include licensing electricians, apprentices, and electrical contractors, investigating complaints about the licensed and unlicensed practice in Colorado, and disciplining those who violate the law. If you have a complaint about an electrician or would like additional licensing and discipline history of your electrician, contact the Colorado Electrical Board.
Deceptive practices by electricians, apprentices, and electrical contractors may also violate the Colorado Consumer Protection Act (CCPA). If you believe you have been victimized by an electrician or if you wish to report suspicious activity, file a report with the Colorado Attorney General.
Click here for additional information on ways to avoid contractor fraud.
The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment assists with matters related to wage claims, unemployment insurance, and worker’s compensation. The Division can provide assistance or guidance with the following:
The Division does not have authority over the following:
The U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA) regulates food and drugs on the market, investigates claims regarding these products, reviews new products and ensures that accurate information is provided to health professionals and consumers.
The network of 167 field offices is generally the first point of contact for the public and regulated manufacturers. The employees in these offices focus on inspection and surveillance, laboratory work and public industry education. The public affairs specialists in these field offices can respond to various consumer questions, and can provide information such as publications and press releases
For more information, contact the FDA.
Home repair fraud can be one of the most devastating events a homeowner can go through. While legitimate contractors work hard to build their reputation and brand, fraudulent contractors operate with one task at hand - getting your money.
Before you select your contractor, check with the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) and your local government to determine if your contractor is properly licensed.
If you have been a victim of contractor fraud, file a report with the appropriate agency:
Amid the growing concern regarding homeowner’s associations (HOA’s), the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) - Division of Real Estate has established The HOA Information and Resource Center.
The Center provides information to homeowners as well as registration requirements for HOA’s within the state. For further information about HOA’s or to submit a complaint, please contact The HOA Information and Resource Center.
If you desire a legal opinion relating to your specific situation, we recommend contacting a private attorney or one of the services that provide legal assistance through the local bar association and other entities.
While Colorado law regulates the return of security deposits and requires the return of security deposits within one month after the lease has been terminated in absence of cause or unless otherwise specified within the lease, most landlord/tenant issues involve private contractual disputes and are not typically under the authority of the state. Consumers seeking assistance with landlord tenant issues may wish to contact Colorado Housing Connects to determine if assistance may be available.
Contractual disputes can often be extremely complex and may require a legal venue to resolve the issues. Consumers wanting to learn more about small claims court in their district or for those wanting to learn more about legal resources in their area should review the Legal Assistance section within this Resource Guide. If you desire a legal opinion or representation relating to your specific situation, we recommend contacting a private attorney or one of the services that provide legal assistance through the local bar association and/or other legal entities.
Motor Vehicle Repair Garages
It is always a good idea in connection with any major construction or home improvement project to require your contractor to obtain lien waivers from subcontractors and suppliers or requiring that every check issued by you is made payable jointly to the contractor and to the appropriate subcontractor or supplier.
If you suspect a lien has resulted from deception or misrepresentations, file a report with the Colorado Attorney General.
Moving can be an extremely stressful time. Not only can moving be stressful, it can also an opportune time for scammers as well. Do your homework before you move and know who you are dealing with prior to entering into any contract.
In-state movers are regulated by the Colorado Public Utilities Commission and are required to meet certain standards prior to operating. Interstate movers must be licensed by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). Verify your mover is licensed prior to signing a contract. Consumers may also want to check on their complaint history and reputation with organizations like the Better Business Bureau.
Click here to learn more about moving scams and additional tips on how to protect yourself from becoming a victim. Deception or misrepresentations by moving companies within Colorado may also violate the Colorado Consumer Protection Act (CCPA). If you believe you have been victimized by a moving company or if you wish to report suspicious activity, report it.
The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies - Division of Professions and Occupations State Plumbing Board regulates and licenses plumbers. The Board’s mission is to protect the health of the public by enforcing the state plumbing statutes. The Board activities include licensing and registration of plumbers, apprentices, and plumbing contractors, investigating complaints about the licensed and unlicensed practice in Colorado, and disciplining those who violate the law.
If you have a complaint about a plumber or would like additional licensing and discipline history of your plumber, contact the State Plumbing Board.
Deceptive practices by plumbers, apprentices, and plumbing contractors may also violate the Colorado Consumer Protection Act (CCPA). If you believe you have been victimized by a plumber or if you wish to report suspicious activity, file a report with the Colorado Attorney General.
The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission is charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of serious injury or death from thousands of types of consumer products under the agency's jurisdiction.
If you have concerns about the safety of products you have purchased or if you wish to see what products have been recalls, contact the Commission.
Colorado Refugee Services Program (CRSP) is a division of the Colorado Department of Human Services and funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Office of Refugee Resettlement. The agency’s goal is to ensure effective resettlement of officially designated refugees and to promote refugee self-sufficiency. Refugees are federally defined as having legal status and a lawful presence in the state.
The agency is committed to a holistic approach to refugee resettlement. Services and programs support refugees and the larger receiving community working together to build the social capital necessary to both sustain a welcoming environment for refugees as well as a return on investment for the mainstream. Working with local partners, CRSP supported services include: ESL classes, job training, cash assistance, legal services, and health care.
For more information or to seek assistance with refugee matters, contact the Colorado Refugee Services Program.
Additionally refugees who believe they have been victimized by fraud or wish to report suspicious activity should file a report with the Colorado Attorney General.
While Sign Language Interpreters are not currently required to be licensed in Colorado, Sign Language Interpreters are prohibited in claiming certification unless he or she holds a current certification issued by the registry of interpreters for the deaf or a successor organization.
If you believe you have been a victim of misleading Sing Language Interpreter certification or if you wish to report suspicious activity, report it to the Colorado Attorney General.
While legitimate timeshare purchasing and reselling organizations are lawfully conducting business throughout the state, every year fraudulent timeshare businesses pop-up in an effort to steal your money. Click here to learn more about timeshare scams and how to protect yourself from becoming a victim.
If you have been a victim of a timeshare scam and incurred financial losses, file a report with the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI).
The Office of State Treasurer operates The Great Colorado Payback which provides consumers an opportunity to determine and recover, if applicable, any unclaimed property. Consumers wanting to know more about the program or to determine if they have any unclaimed property should check with The Great Colorado Payback.
As there is no charge for this service, consumers should be wary of calls or letters from people offering assistance in finding lost or unclaimed property for a fee. Always check with The Great Colorado Payback first.
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration’s (OSHA) goal is to save lives, prevent injuries and protect the health of America’s workers. To accomplish this, federal and state governments must work in partnership with the more than 100 million working men and women and their six and a half million employers who are covered by the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970.
OSHA and its state partners have approximately 2100 inspectors, plus complaint discrimination investigators, engineers, physicians, educators, standards writers, and other technical and support personnel spread over more than 200 offices throughout the country. This staff establishes protective standards, enforces those standards, and reaches out to employers and employees through technical assistance and consultation programs.
Nearly every working man and woman in the nation comes under OSHA’s jurisdiction (with some exceptions such as miners, transportation workers, many public employees, and the self-employed). Other users and recipients of OSHA services include occupational safety and health professionals, the academic community, lawyers, journalists, and personnel of other government entities.
Consumers with questions or complaints about safety in the workplace can contact OSHA.